Teach Your Children Well

I use to worry that my son would either break things or break from things. I made sure corners of tables were covered, our expensive items were put of reach, and doors to the bathrooms shut tight. But where does that leave me? Worrying constantly about my material possesions, all replaceable. Missing moments of my son becoming aware of more than just wooden blocks and felted books.

Once I came to the realization that I’d much rather spend my time introducing my son to new, exciting things, I relaxed. I still get a heart attack when he decides to scale the back of the couch and tightrope walk on its arms, but when it comes to handling my camera or typing on my laptop, not holding my hand playing in the backyard, or running to the big kid slide without any hesitation, I relax.

If you have a toddler, you know what I’m talking about when it comes to mess. Ronin will start out with one outfit, be shirtless for lunch, second outfit before nap time, pants come off at some point, and don’t get me started on little outings resulting in ice cream soaked shirts or ketchup filled pockets. Learning is half the fun. Seeing sprinkles and ice cream dripping from his chin to his shirt, learning the right side of a spoon, cleaning himself up with a wipe, those are the moments I know will shape him. All it takes is patience and a change of clothes.

image

image

image

He’s learning, growing, testing his limits. And that’s just fine with me.

Leave a Reply

