Sling Care: Stains

I’m constantly finding sneaky stains hidden on the tails and rails of my poor slings. No matter how hard I try, keeping a sling clean with a little one is near impossible. I remember the first time Ronin decided to spit milk down the side of our brand new linen sling… my heart sunk. I knew I could wash it, but how?

I was terrified of losing the color, the strength, the general amazingness that is a brand new sling. But after countless other mamas offered advice and support on how to properly go about it. While spot cleaning is possible with just a dab of water and washcloth, this is tailored toward the more stubborn stains that need a little extra elbow grease.

Here’s what you’ll need. Washing machine, Max-Force Oxi Clean gel, and a baby sock. Despite its name, the Oxi-Clean is incredibly gently, smells very mild, and takes out the most resistant of stains (believe me, I’ve gotten out everything from baby blowouts to tattoo ink and everywhere in between).

Set your washer to small load, delicate/hand wash, cold/cold. I usually set my duration setting to short wash as well.

Prep your sling. Apply the gel directly to the fabric following the directions on the label. Let it sit for roughly five minutes, increasing time with severity and color of the stain. Below is a demonstration of ridding my Sakura Bloom Classic Maple of carrot applesauce.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Lastly, let the sling air dry. I hang mine up as soon as the washing machine finishes to make sure it doesn’t harbor any dingy smells. If time permits, I highly suggest running an iron over the sling before rethreading.

Feel free to ask questions or share your favorite methods of getting your sling clean! 

Leave a Reply

