Project Capsule Wardrobe: The Beginning

When it comes to clothes, I always feel overwhelmed with too many choices. Like a menu at a restaurant that gives my poor stomach the choice between burgers and sushi… It’s just too much! Every once in a while I just wish I could wear jeans and the same top every single day. I mean it, every single day.

A friend of mine brought up the idea of a capsule wardrobe to me the other day and since then, I’ve been hooked. I looked at hundreds of blog postings, Pinterest pins, and wardrobe combinations. And then the purge game. I got rid of bags and bags of clothing that I haven’t worn in years, pairs of shoes that I didn’t even know were still around, and a few fashion choices I truly wish I had not made.

For those of you who do not know, a capsule wardrobe is in the easiest terms, minimalist. The idea is to only have a few options in every category of clothing, make unique combinations to create new outfits, and get rid of nonessential items. This goes for everything from her shirts and pants to the amount of purses and scarves you have to choose from.

While I completely love the idea of having an entire closet full of items to choose from, there are so many items that just go unworn, never used, and forgotten. Do I really need the dress I wore to a friends wedding five years ago? How many times I’m actually going to use the purse with the broken strap?

I’ve been trying to find the best way to do a capsule wardrobe, it varies from person to person. Personally, I wouldn’t Florida. My need for sweaters, coats, will socks, and really anything pertaining to the tiniest chill do not really need a large spot in my closet. This particular capsule will be geared mostly towards spring and summer, with the addition of I needed coat and boots. If there ever be a change in the climate or a move in my future, this will have to be updated. And that’s okay! Change is welcome, so long as I’m not going overboard.

Over the next month, I’m whittling down what I wear and accessorize with and want to share the journey with you all. I’m beyond excited to be ridding my closet of coats gathering dust, shirts with tags still attached, and shorts I should really have known I couldn’t pull off. I have given, sold, and donated all of my extra apparel and let me tell you, it’s liberating. I will be putting together a comprehensive checklist, wardrobe ideas, and showing you just what all is in my capsule.

I know this particular wardrobe is not for everyone, and that is completely understandable. For example, I am in love with neutral colors, dark tones, and minimal decoration. I’m going to say rain since I was 11 and other than that my jewelry is almost nonexistent. Shoes is going to be my roughest patch, I just love them so much. But there’s so much joy to be found in cleansing, in starting new, and in lowering stress found with style. I don’t want to spend my mornings picking out the perfect outfit from way too many choices that I’m not comfortable in. My goal is to have the perfect parts to every outfit make me comfortable, confident, and most importantly happy.

So stay tuned sweet folks! The capsule wardrobe project is about to begin.

One thought on “Project Capsule Wardrobe: The Beginning

Leave a Reply

