Mary Hayes

Before Claire was even born, I knew I would want to wear her most of the time.  Although I’m one of the first of my friends to have a child, I was fortunate enough to be part of a community of bloggers who are also mothers, and after seeing them carry their children this way I couldn’t imagine any other way.  Having her be so close to my body at all times has really enhanced that feeling that she’s an extension of myself, as all babies really are to their mothers.  

My favorite thing about baby wearing has been how much I’ve been able to share with Claire.  Rather than having her set down on a play mat while I do simple tasks like the dishes, cooking dinner, putting on makeup, she observes all these things and takes them in.  She gets the same view I do when we’re on a walk in the park, rather than just seeing her feet in the stroller.

upload.jpeg
Also, I think that babies can FEEL the difference between being worn and being held.  Worn babies are just provided a closeness – there’s no stress, just warmth and connection.  Held babies may be in someone’s arms, but it’s work for the person holding them and there’s just no getting around that.  Babies are so sensitive and so intuitive, I just have no doubt that when I’m holding Claire she can tell that I’m getting tired or stressed at my inability to pick up my phone or eat my snack.  She is not calmed by someone’s arms the way she is when I pop her into our sling.  For me, being a sling mama has just made all the difference in how I mother Claire, because it’s taken all that “work” of holding a baby and turned it into joy.

Follow along with my on Instagram – @mmargarethayes

and my blog http://www.lightsleeperheavydreamer.com/


Original post on February 20, 2015 on http://www.atlanticdaydreams.com

Leave a Reply

