INSPIRED STYLE: JORDAN JENKS

image.jpgHello Loves!

My name is Jordan Jenks and I’m from Rochester, New York. I am 23 and have been married to my dorky best friend for four years, and we have two little ladies – Vivienne Faere who is 2.5 years old and Penelope Darling who is 16 months.

I feel like in this life it’s so easy to get caught up in the business that comes with each day of being a mom to two very young kids, that it can be hard to make time for yourself. It didn’t happen right away, but I have learned how important it is to make sure that you are taking care of you, before you can really take care of others.

Of course it would be easiest to throw on yesterdays jeans and toss my hair up into a bun (though believe me, there are definitely those days) but I always feel my best when I take a few minutes to get inspired. My days are filled with taking care of the needs of my babes, that when I take those few minutes every day to put together a new outfit it makes feel just a little bit more motivated to face the day (coffee in hand, of course).

I think of myself as a dreamer. I am always coming up with new ideas and plans, whether they come to fruition or not, I love to dream. I love to imagine and create, so that part of me is always peeking out in my everyday style. I often can see those qualities shining in my daughters too. Viv loves trying on clothes and putting together her own outfits, and you can tell it’s because she enjoys it and that it’s a creative outlet for her. I know that a lot of times people can think that things like clothing and makeup is vanity or not important, but for me it really is all about feeling inspired and having a creative outlet.  My husband usually thinks I’m a little “out there” with what I throw together but I think that’s most of the fun! I don’t think that I really have a specific “style”, lately I’ve been enjoying putting together bohemian outfits with a lot of accessories and texture. I feel like the boho style is so easy to pull off while still being practical enough to do “mom life” and really gives me room to experiment. My current favorites are high waisted jeans, bell sleeves, tall boots, and a felt hat. Some days I look like I belong at Woodstock and other days I look like I should be riding a motorcycle! Ha!

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

It took me some time, but one thing that I am so thankful that I realized is that I don’t have to sacrifice the things that I enjoy just because my days are otherwise filled. When I take those few minutes in the morning to take care of myself while the girls are playing together, I am able to be a much more motivated and inspired mom to them throughout the day.


Outfit Details:

High waisted Jeans: H&M
Bell sleeve top: TJ Maxx
Vest: Free People (a few years ago)
Boots: Minnetonka
Feather hair piece: Forever 21


 Original Post October 8, 2014 on http://www.atlanticdaydreams.com

Leave a Reply

