Dream On Youth

I try to make it a point to use my ‘social media powers’ for good and promote all the beautiful people who have supported me over the years. I recently spoke with one of those beautiful people – Cydney Irby, founder of the non-profit organization, Dream On Youth. Cydney is such an amazing, kind-hearted individual and she is truly someone that I strive to be more like every day.

“As cheesy as it sounds, Dream On Youth isn’t just a brand, it’s a lifestyle. It started on March 27, 2012. I won’t lie, I didn’t know what I was doing at first. My parents had always pushed me into the direction of my dreams. I wanted to do the same for those who don’t have that support system. DOY is that support system. We are those shoulders to lean on, your cheer squad, your sunshine even on the darkest days. We were made to promote optimism, work ethic, and imagination in this crazy world! I only say we because there are currently nine of us. We cover every aspect from fashion and music to bringing awareness to pressing issues in society. Run by women, Dream On Youth is ready to take over.

I think it’s funny because most people must assume I am making money off of it somehow. I’m not! I am literally doing what I love because I want to. There is no better feeling than knowing I impacted someone’s life. There is no greater joy than hearing someone say “you’re my role model” just because I am happily chasing my dreams! I have very real issues to deal with and times get hard but since our first birthday, DOY has changed my view on everything. I am living an amazing life. I am blessed. I am finally happy and it feels phenomenal!”

-Cydney

Check out Cydney’s personal blog here and Dream On Youth here!

Written by Shannon Bray

Leave a Reply

