Amanda Rickenbach

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetHello! I am so happy to be participate in For The Love Of Baby Wearing! My name is Amanda, I am the mother of a 15 month old wild baby boy, step mother to an inquisitive 6 year old step boy, and woman to an eccentric man. I am a designer, yoga teacher, creator and I own The Love More Shop  an online shop that uses a portion of proceeds to send parents out on dates together to nurture their love for one another.

Oh how I love my baby to be near me, pressed against my chest, safe in my arms. I’ve worn Theodore since he was brand new. We didn’t leave our home, aside from our trip home from the birth center, for two weeks after he his birth. We snuggled and slept and marveled at life.

On our first trips out together when Theo was around 2 weeks old I had him in his Sakura Bloom Wheat sling. I remember the breweries we went to and how vulnerable I felt to the whole world holding my newborn. I didn’t know how to use the sling properly yet so I supported him with my arm as he lay cradled. Thinking about that time feels so sweet and dreamlike.

1413232400664

1413232389231

I’ve always been a fan of baby wearing though I don’t have any memories of seeing anyone baby wearing as I grew up. My memories are of photos of beautiful Indian and African women with their babes strapped to their backs and I knew I wanted to do the same when I became a mother.

1413232290015

Because I couldn’t figure out how to use the sling those first weeks we started using our Ergo with the infant insert immediately. We live in the city so we walk a lot and wearing our new baby was natural. We would walk to the park, to the pizza place, and to the grocery store with him pressed against our chests. It was August – so he would often end up covered in sweat.

For a while that was a sure way to get him to sleep. If nursing and rocking wouldn’t help him sleep, we would put him in the Ergo, walk, and he would pass out.

1413232252804

Now, my boy is 15 months old and we still wear him several times a week. I have obviously learned how to wear the sling and I take one with us almost everywhere because it’s easy to shove into my purse. Theo will ride on Isaacs back in the Ergo if we go to a soccer game or to volunteer at the Food Bank Gardens and I wear him in both my Sakura Bloom Sling and Ergo at the grocery store, on short walks, the airport, and if we go to parties. I have recently started taking care of a little girl that is 2 months older than Theo – so I will strap one of them to my back in the Ergo and push the other one in the stroller to go on walks.

I love babywearing. It makes life so much easier at times and creates intimacy with my son. Having my boy in kissable distance is perfect for this extremely attached mother.

1413232347695

We use:

Sakura Bloom Linen Slings – Wheat and Driftwood Sadly these color ways have been discontinued, but more gorgeous options have taken their place!

Ergo Organic Baby Carrier – Navy

We are wearing:

Basically all American Apparel. We wear a lot of American Apparel because we like to keep things plain and simple. We also love to buy things made in the USA. So there is that…

Theo’s Overalls: Zara Baby

Theo’s Shoes: Camp Wolf Moccasins & Minnetonka Moccasin Booties

Mama Leggings: Prana

Mama Boots: Frye

To find more photos of my little family and life, find me on instagram @coldcupof_tea and @thelovemoreshop. I LOVE the community of mothers I have found via instagram and would love for you to be a part of it too. I also have a personal blog – www.coldcupoftea.com – but between my family and The Love More Shop I rarely post there anymore. Maybe I will make time for it again soon.

Light & Love,

Amanda


Original post October 16, 2014 on http://www.atlanticdaydreams.com

Leave a Reply

